LAKEHEAD DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD

MINUTES OF BOARD MEETING NO. 16 (SPECIAL)

Board Room Jim McCuaig Education Centre 2016 OCT 04 7:30 p.m.

TRUSTEES PRESENT:

Deborah Massaro (Chair) George Saarinen (Vice Chair) Marg Arnone Ellen Chambers Ron Oikonen Jack Playford Trudy Tuchenhagen Karen Wilson Robyn Sulkko (Student Trustee)

SENIOR ADMINISTRATION:

Ian MacRae, Director of Education Colleen Kappel, Superintendent of Education Sherri-Lynne Pharand, Superintendent of Education David Wright, Superintendent of Business

FEDERATION/UNION REPRESENTATIVES:

Rod Bessel, Manager of Property Services and Transportation Dave Covello, Manager of Information Technology and Corporate Planning Heather Harris, Capital Planning Officer Kirsti Alaksa, Manager of Financial Services Paul Caccamo, OSSTF - TBU Pat Gibbs, OSSTF - SSP Nancy Nix, LETO - EOT Mike Judge, LETO

PUBLIC SESSION:

1. <u>Approval of Agenda</u>

Moved by Trustee Arnone

Seconded by Trustee Tuchenhagen

"THAT the Agenda for Board Meeting, No. 16 (Special), October 4, 2016 be approved."

CARRIED

2. <u>Resolve Into Committee Of The Whole – Closed Session</u>

Moved by Trustee Saarinen

Seconded by Trustee Wilson

"THAT we resolve into Committee of the Whole – Closed Session with Trustee Massaro in the Chair to consider the following:

- Property Matter

and that this meeting shall not be open to the public pursuant to Section 207 (2) of the Education Act as amended."

CARRIED

3. <u>Committee Of The Whole – Closed Session:</u>

Committee of the Whole – Closed Session items were dealt with in their entirety.

MATTERS FOR DECISION:

4. <u>School Renewal Plan – Final Staff Report (089-16)</u>

Ron Oikonen, Trustee, requested that the motion being presented be split into two motions.

Trustees, by consensus, agreed to split the motion into two motions.

George Saarinen, Trustee, requested a recorded vote.

Moved by Trustee Oikonen

Second by Trustee Chambers

"THAT Lakehead District School Board:

1. Approve the consolidation of students from Superior Collegiate and Vocational Institute into Hammarskjold High School for the 2017-2018 school year and approve the closure of St. James Public School, C.D. Howe Public School and Vance Chapman Public School, effective June 30, 2018 relocating students from these schools to the renovated Superior Collegiate and Vocational Institute site, effective September 2018."

<u>Trustee</u>	<u>In Favour</u>	<u>Opposed</u>
Arnone Chambers Oikonen Playford Saarinen Tuchenhagen Wilson Massaro	Х	X X X X X X X

DEFEATED

5. <u>School Renewal Plan – Final Staff Report (089-16)</u>

Moved by Trustee Saarinen

Second by Trustee Tuchenhagen

"THAT Lakehead District School Board:

2. "Approve the consolidation of students from Sir Winston Churchill Collegiate and Vocational Institute into Westgate Collegiate and Vocational Institute for the 2017-2018 school year and approve the closure of Agnew H. Johnston Public School and Edgewater Park Public School, effective June 30, 2018 relocating students from these schools to a newly constructed elementary school on the Sir Winston Churchill Collegiate and Vocational Institute site, effective September 2018."

<u>Trustee</u>	<u>In Favour</u>	<u>Opposed</u>
Arnone Chambers Oikonen Playford Saarinen Tuchenhagen Wilson Massaro	X X X X X X X X X X	

CARRIED

6. <u>Adjournment</u>

Moved by Trustee Saarinen

Seconded by Trustee Tuchenhagen

"THAT we do now adjourn at 8:33 p.m."

CARRIED

CONFIRMED BY THE BOARD – October 25, 2016

Chair

Secretary