#### LAKEHEAD DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD

# MINUTES OF ANNUAL BOARD MEETING

Board Room 2016 DEC 06 Jim McCuaig Education Centre 6:00 p.m.

## TRUSTEES PRESENT:

Marg ArnoneJack PlayfordEllen ChambersGeorge SaarinenDeborah MassaroTrudy TuchenhagenRon OikonenKaren Wilson

Robyn Sulkko (Student Trustee)

### SENIOR ADMINISTRATION:

Ian MacRae, Director of Education Colleen Kappel, Superintendent of Education Sherri-Lynne Pharand, Superintendent of Education David Wright, Superintendent of Business

### FEDERATION/UNION REPRESENTATIVES:

David Covello, Managers Nancy Nix, LETO Elementary Occasional Teachers

#### 1. Call to Order

lan MacRae, Secretary of the Board, called the meeting to order and reviewed the procedures for the meeting.

#### 2. <u>Introduction of Scrutineers</u>

Colleen Kappel, Superintendent of Education, and Sherri-Lynne Pharand, Superintendent of Education, were introduced as the scrutineers for elections.

## 3. Election of Chair of the Board

Ian MacRae, Secretary of the Board, announced the pre-nominations of Trustee Massaro by Trustee Arnone and Trustee Playford by Trustee Chambers for the Office of Chair of the Board. Trustee Massaro and Trustee Playford accepted the nomination. Further nominations were called for from the floor. There were no further nominations.

The scrutineer and her assistant conducted the election for the Office of Chair of the Board between Trustee Massaro and Trustee Playford. Trustee Massaro was declared the winner.

Trustee Massaro was declared chair of the Board. Trustee Massaro assumed the chair

Chair Massaro thanked the Board for the opportunity to serve as chair of the Board.

## 4. Election of Vice Chair of the Board

The chair announced the pre-nomination of Trustee Saarinen by Trustee Jack Playford for the Office of the Vice Chair of the Board. Further nominations were called for from the floor. There were no further nominations.

Trustee Saarinen was acclaimed vice chair of the Board.

#### 5. Election of a Member and Alternate of the Coordinating Committee

The chair announced the pre-nomination of Trustee Arnone by Trustee Massaro and Trustee Chambers by Trustee Saarinen for the position of member of the Coordinating Committee. Trustee Arnone and Trustee Chambers accepted the nomination. Further nominations were called for from the floor. There were no further nominations.

The scrutineer and her assistant conducted the election for the Member of the Coordinating Committee between Trustee Arnone and Trustee Chambers. There was a tie vote and a drawing of lots was required. In accordance to section 3.3.5.5 of the 2014 Procedural By-Law, ballots were prepared. There were two drawing of lots. Trustee Arnone was declared the winner

Trustee Arnone was declared as member of the Coordinating Committee.

The chair announced that there were no pre-nominations for the position of the alternate member of the Coordinating Committee. Trustee Saarinen nominated Trustee Chambers. Trustee Chambers accepted the nomination. Further nominations were called for from the floor. There were no further nominations.

Trustee Chambers was acclaimed as alternate member of the Coordinating Committee.

## 6. Motion to Destroy Ballots

Moved by Trustee Wilson

Seconded by Trustee Oikonen

"THAT the ballots for the elections at the Annual Meeting, December 6, 2016 be destroyed."

**CARRIED** 

# 7. <u>Aboriginal Education Advisory Committee Annual Report (006-17)</u>

Sherri-Lynne Pharand, Co-Chair of the Aboriginal Education Advisory Committee, introduced Pauline Fontaine, Principal, Ecole Gron Morgan Public School and a member on the Aboriginal Education Advisory Committee, who presented the annual report. All trustees' questions were addressed.

Moved by Trustee Chambers

Seconded by Trustee Arnone

"THAT Lakehead District School Board receive the Annual Report of the Aboriginal Education Advisory Committee."

**CARRIED** 

### 8. Special Education Advisory Committee Annual Report (003-17)

Laura Sylvestre, Chair of the Special Education Advisory Committee, presented the annual report. All trustees' questions were addressed.

Moved by Trustee Tuchenhagen

Seconded by Trustee Wilson

"THAT Lakehead District School Board receive the Annual Report of the Special Education Advisory Committee."

CARRIED

# 9. Parent Involvement Committee Annual Report (002-16)

Laura Sylvestre, 2015-2016 Chair, Parent Involvement Committee, presented the annual report. All trustees' questions were addressed.

Moved by Trustee Wilson

Seconded by Trustee Arnone

"THAT Lakehead District School Board receive the Annual Report of the Parent Involvement Committee."

**CARRIED** 

# 10. Thunder Bay Public Library Board Annual Report (007-17)

Pat Johansen, Lakehead District School Board appointee to the Thunder Bay Public Library Board, and Laura Prinselaar, Head of Youth and Children's Services at Thunder Bay Public Library, presented the annual report. All trustees' questions were addressed.

Moved by Trustee Saarinen

Seconded by Trustee Wilson

"THAT Lakehead District School Board receive the Annual Report by Lakehead District School Board appointee to the Thunder Bay Public Library Board."

**CARRIED** 

### 11. Trustee Appointments to Board Committees – 2017 (005-17)

Moved by Trustee Oikonen

Seconded by Trustee Playford

"THAT Lakehead District School Board approve the Trustee Appointments to Board Committees – 2017 as set out in Appendix A to Report No. 005-17."

CARRIED

## 12. Director's Annual Report 2015-2016 (001-17)

Ian MacRae, Director of Education, presented a summary of his report. The director thanked senior administration, their executive secretaries, Judy Hill, Executive Assistant to the Director, Bruce Nugent, Communications Officer, and Heather Houston, Desktop and Graphics Technician, for their work over the past year. All trustees' questions were addressed.

Moved by Trustee Chambers

Seconded by Trustee Oikonen

"THAT Lakehead District School Board receive the Director's Annual Report 2015-2016."

**CARRIED** 

13.	<u>Adjournment</u>	
	Moved by Trustee Saarinen	Seconded by Trustee Wilson
	"THAT we do now adjourn at 7:30 p.m."	
		CARRIED
CONI	FIRMED BY THE BOARD – January 24, 2017	
	 Chair	Secretary

13.