LAKEHEAD DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD

MINUTES OF FINANCE COMMITTEE

Board Room / Microsoft Teams Jim McCuaig Education Centre 2024 DEC 11 6:00p.m.

TRUSTEES PRESENT:

Ellen Chambers Ron Oikonen (MS Teams) Patricia Johansen Leah Vanderwey Scottie Wemigwans Ryan Sitch Trudy Tuchenhagen Donica LeBlanc

TRUSTEES WITH REGRETS:

George Saarinen

SENIOR ADMINISTRATION:

Sherri-Lynne Pharand, Director of Education Jane Lower, Superintendent of Education Kirsti Alaksa, Superintendent of Business Michelle Probizanski, Superintendent of Education Heather Harris, Superintendent of Education Nicholas Sacevich, Associate Superintendent of Education

RESOURCE:

Angela Lee-Wiwcharyk, Manager of Financial Services Christine Jones, Executive Assistant

PUBLIC SESSION:

1. Call to Order

Kirsti Alaksa, Superintendent of Business, called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m.

2. Disclosure of Conflict of Interest

There were no disclosures of Conflict of Interest.

3. Election of Chair

Kirsti Alaksa, Superintendent of Business, explained the process of the election for Chair of the Budget Committee. Angela Lee-Wiwcharyk, Manager of Financial Services and Christine Jones, Executive Secretary, were introduced as the scrutineers for the elections.

Kirsti Alaksa, Superintendent of Business announced the pre-nominations for the Chair of the Finance Committee. Trustee George Saarinen and Trustee Vanderwey nominated Trustee Scottie Wemigwans. Trustee Wemigwans accepted the nomination with thanks to his nominators. Superintendent Alaksa called for nominations from the floor three times. There were no further nominations.

Moved by Trustee Johansen

Seconded by Trustee Chambers

"THAT nominations for the position of Chair of the 2025-2026 Finance Committee be closed."

CARRIED

Trustee Wemigwans was acclaimed as Chair of the Finance Committee and assumed the Chair.

4. <u>Election of Vice Chair</u>

Trustee Wemigwans announced the pre-nominations for Vice Chair of the Finance Committee. Trustee Saarinen was nominated by Trustee Tuchenhagen. Trustee Saarinen accepted any pre-nominations received as he was unable to attend. There were no further nominations.

Moved by Trustee Vanderwey Seconded by Trustee Tuchenhagen

"THAT nominations for the position of Vice Chair of the 2025-2026 Finance Committee be closed."

CARRIED

Trustee Saarinen was declared Vice Chair of the 2025-2026 Finance Committee.

5. Disclosure of Conflict of Interest

There were no disclosures of Conflict of Interest.

6. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u>

Moved by Trustee LeBlanc

Seconded by Trustee Chambers

"THAT the Agenda for the Finance Committee Meeting of December 11, 2024, be approved."

CARRIED

7. Delegations

There were no delegations.

8. <u>Approval Of Minutes</u>

Moved by Trustee Johansen

Seconded by Trustee Vanderwey

"THAT the Finance Committee approve the Minutes of the Finance Committee Meeting June 18, 2024."

CARRIED

9. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes of June 18, 2024.

- 10. <u>New Reports</u>
 - 10.1 2023-2024 Financial Statement Variance Report (007-25)

Kirsti Alaksa, Superintendent of Business, and Angela Lee-Wiwcharyk presented the 2023-2024 Financial Statement Variance Report. All questions were addressed.

10.2 2023-2024 Transfer & Contingency Fund Report (008-25)

Kirsti Alaksa, Superintendent of Business, and Angela Lee-Wiwcharyk presented the 2023-2024 Transfer & Contingency Fund Report. All questions were addressed.

- 11. Information and Inquires
 - 11.1 Kirsti Alaksa, Superintendent of Business, presented the 2025-2026 Finance Committee schedule. Meeting invitations will follow.
- 12. <u>Adjournment</u>

Moved by Trustee Sitch

Seconded by Trustee LeBlanc

"THAT we do now adjourn at 6:40 p.m."

CARRIED