LAKEHEAD DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD

SPECIAL EDUCATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE

2020 DEC 09

Jim McCuaig Education Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario VIA Microsoft Teams

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Liz Tod Carey Murphy Michelle Blackburn Angela Hill

Trustee Sue Doughty-Smith

Suzanne Posthumus

Anne Antenucci

Kelly Matyasovszky

Trustee Marg Arnone
Wilma Kleynendorst
Tracy Paquette

OTHERS PRESENT:

Michelle Probizanski (acting Chair) Christine Jones

Ruth Ann Fay

ABSENT WITH REGRETS:

Lesley Harding Miranda Myers

Ashley Etienne Student Trustee Talpade

Mike Otway Indigenous Student Trustee Essex

Jennifer Bean

1. Call to Order

Superintendent of Education, Michelle Probizanski, called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m.

2. Election of Special Education Advisory Committee Chair

Superintendent of Education, Michelle Probizanski, called for nominations for chair of the Special Education Advisory Committee. As no nominations were forthcoming, Superintendent Probizanski chaired the remainder of the meeting.

Election of Special Education Advisory Committee Vice Chair

Superintendent of Education, Michelle Probizanski, called for nominations for vice chair of the Special Education Advisory Committee. There were no nominations forthcoming.

3. Welcome and Introductions

Superintendent of Education, Michelle Probizanski, welcomed our new trustee representatives and new members from Autism Ontario.

4. Approval of the Agenda

Moved by Wilma Kleynendorst

Seconded by Liz Tod

"THAT the agenda for the December 9, 2020 SEAC meeting be approved as amended."

CARRIED

5. Declarations of Conflict of Interest

There were no declarations of conflict of interest.

6. Presentations

Executive Secretary, Christine Jones, provided the Ontario Human Rights Commission Right to Read video. Recommendations are expected in the spring of 2021. Carey Murphy, Learning Disabilities Association of Ontario, advised the committee that Thunder Bay's portion is on YouTube. Member's questions were addressed.

7. Approval of the Minutes

Moved by Anne Antenucci

Seconded by Wilma Kleynendorst

"THAT the minutes of the November 18, 2020 SEAC meeting be approved."

CARRIED

8. Business Arising From the Minutes

8.1 Community Engagement Online Event Update

Ruth Ann Fay, Acting Special Education Officer, provided an update of the online event. The three speakers that have confirmed are: Dr. Todd Cunningham on Learning Disabilities, Dr. Mushquash on Anxiety and Dr. Jim Lees on Social Media and its Effects. Speakers are scheduled to present the evenings of January 13, January 20, and January 27, 2021. The committee is working on advertising this event and the best way to present online.

8.2 SEAC Video Update

Ruth Ann Fay, Acting Special Education Officer, provided the video sub-committee update. The video will be focused on what SEAC is, how to get involved, and how SEAC help families. It was suggested that the video also be used for future Lakehead District School Board presentation purposes. The video sub-committee is looking for volunteers from SEAC to speak about their involvement of their role on SEAC and also Special Education families.

8.3 SEAC Presentations to School Council Update

Liz Tod, Learning Disabilities Association of Ontario, presented at the Annual Board Meeting and thanked members for their input to the SEAC presentation. Executive Secretary, Christine Jones, provided the updated SEAC school presentation schedule:

- Westgate Collegiate and Vocational Institute, December 14, 2020: Liz Tod and Ruth Ann Fay;
- Ecole Elsie MacGill Public School, December 15, 2020: Ruth Ann Fay and Angela Hill; and
- C.D. Howe Public School, January 13, 2021: Angela Hill and Michelle Blackburn.

9. Correspondence

Michelle Probizanski, Superintendent of Education, reviewed the correspondence from LDSB Parent Involvement Committee funding letter dated November 20, 2020, that was emailed by Christine Jones to the SEAC Committee members. This will be reflected at our next budget update.

10. New Business

10.1 Lakehead District School Board COVID-19 Update

Michelle Probizanski, Superintendent of Education, provided the committee with the current LDSB COVID-19 update, including Hammarskjold High School. The Thunder Bay District Health Unit had the cohort stay home for 14 days from last day of exposure. All students had to get a COVID-19 test and stay home for 14 days in addition to the bused students also having to isolate for 14 days. The Health Unit has been supportive with LDSB questions, providing advice and/or clarification. All staff currently wear medical grade masks, goggles and/or shields which provided the results of no staff having to self-isolate. We have approximately 900 students virtual, and 400 secondary students.

Members' questions were addressed.

11. Information/Inquires & Association Reports

Nothing to report.

12. SEAC Budget Update

Michelle Probizanski, Superintendent of Education, confirmed there was no change, except for Christmas committee gifts.

13. Board Update

Trustee Sue Doughty-Smith provided an update on the following:

- The Regular Board Meeting was held on November 24, 2020 and the 2020 Annual Board Meeting was held on December 1, 2020. The Annual Meeting included a variety of presentations such as the multi-year capital report that included incredible site photos of Kingfisher. An International Student presentation was also provided, in which an International Student speaker explained their COVID-19 restrictions of travelling home and having to spend 24 days in quarantine, but has since returned to Thunder Bay to finish his schooling.
- An update of the trustee elections: Ellen Chambers was re-elected chair and Trudy Tuchenhagen was re-elected vice chair of the Board. Marg Arnone was elected as member of the Coordinating Committee.
- Annual Board reports from the Parent Involvement Committee, Aboriginal Education Advisory Committee and the Special Education Advisory Committee.
- Reviewed approved policies on Equity and Inclusive Education and Research and Human Rights and Workplace Harassment.
- Appreciation extended to all SEAC Committee members.

14. Adjournment

Moved by Wilma Kleynendorst

"THAT we do now adjourn at 6:45 p.m."

CARRIED