



ABORIGINAL EDUCATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE MINUTES

DATE: Thursday, February 9, 2023 – 9:30 am – 12:00pm – Boardroom/Virtual Meeting via Microsoft Teams

CHAIR: Serena Essex

AJ Keene

MEMBERS PRESENT: Shelby Ch'ng, Elliott Cromarty, Pauline Fontaine, Trustee Pat Johansen, Anna Fern Kakegamic,

Leanna Marshall, Ashley Nurmela, Brent Parres, Indigenous Student Trustee Alexa Sagutcheway,

Morning Star Tom, Yolanda Wanakamik, Indigenous Trustee Scottie Wemigwans

ALTERNATES: Trustee Ellen Chambers, Katrina Fiddler, Dinah Jung,

RESOURCES: Anika Guthrie, Tanya Moses, Jasmine Sgambelluri, Fred Van Elburg, Neil Workman

GUESTS: Corine Bannon, Charlotte Neckoway, Patti Pella, Education Officer, Indigenous Education Office,

Ministry of Education, Sherri-Lynne Pharand, Director of Education

ABSENT WITH REGRETS: Myra Bannon, Kathy Beardy, Kristy Boucher, Tisha Duncan, Student Representative, Linda Grassia,

Sharon Kanutski, Cheryl King-Zewiec, Elder Gerry Martin, Dave Paddington, James Rimkus, Trustee Ryan Sitch, Elder/Knowledge Keeper Renee Tookenay, Leland Waboose, Student Representative

Indigenous

	AGENDA ITEM	DISCUSSION	ACTION
1.	Opening Ceremonies	Chair Essex called the meeting to order.	Serena Essex
2.	2.1 Land Acknowledgement	Chair Essex acknowledged the lands and traditional territory.	Serena Essex
	2.2 Welcome and Introductions	Chair Keene welcomed everyone to the meeting and had all members introduce themselves.	AJ Keene

3.	Agenda and Minutes		
	3.1 Approval of Agenda - February 9, 2023	Moved by Pauline Fontaine and seconded by Indigenous Trustee Scottie Wemigwans that the agenda for the February 9, 2023 AEAC meeting be approved.	Serena Essex
	2.2 Approval of	Carried Moved by Trustee Det Johannen and accorded by Elliot Cromorty that the	Serena Essex
	3.2 Approval of Minutes – December 8,	Moved by Trustee Pat Johansen and seconded by Elliot Cromarty that the minutes for the December 8, 2022 AEAC meeting be approved as written.	Serena Essex
	2022	Carried	
4.	Business Arising from the Minutes		
	4.1 Naming of Committee	Anika Guthrie, Principal of Indigenous Education, shared with the committee that Tanya Moses, FNMI Partnerships Co-ordinator, will be involved in the process of meeting with community members and an update will be shared at the next AEAC meeting.	Anika Guthrie
	4.2 AEAC Event	Anika Guthrie, Principal of Indigenous Education, shared with the committee that Tanya Moses, FNMI Partnerships Co-ordinator will be involved in the process of meeting with community members and an update will be shared at the next AEAC meeting.	Anika Guthrie
	4.3 Student Concern Follow- Up	Sherri-Lynne Pharand, Director of Education, updated the committee on the steps that have been taken to address student concerns that were raised at the last AEAC meeting. All members' questions were addressed.	Sherri-Lynne Pharand
5.	New Business		
	5.1 BAP and Financials	Anika Guthrie, Principal of Indigenous Education, shared a summary of the Board Action Plan with the committee. All members' questions were addressed.	Anika Guthrie
	5.2 Staffing Updates	Co-chair AJ Keene introduced Tanya Moses as the new FNMI Partnerships Co-ordinator and spoke briefly on the new position that has been created and will be introduced at the next meeting.	AJ Keene
6.	Presentations	Corine Bannon and Charlotte Neckoway, Native-as-a Second Language (NSL) teachers, shared a presentation with the committee about Elementary	Corine Bannon Charlotte Neckoway
	Elementary NSL Presentation	NSL in Lakehead Public Schools. All members' questions were addressed.	

7.	Ongoing Business		
	Indigenous Student Trustee Update	Indigenous Student Trustee, Alexa Sagutcheway, gave a brief update to the committee about her participation in selecting the next Indigenous Student Trustee. All members' questions were addressed.	Alexa Sagutcheway
8.	Information and Inquiries		
9.	Closing	Serena Essex closed the meeting.	
10.	Next Meeting	Thursday, March 23, 2023	
11.	Adjournment	The meeting was adjourned at 12:10 p.m.	