LAKEHEAD DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD

MINUTES OF FINANCE COMMITTEE

Board Room / Microsoft Teams Jim McCuaig Education Centre 2024 APR 16 6:30p.m.

TRUSTEES PRESENT:

Ellen Chambers George Saarinen Patricia Johansen Leah Vanderwey Ryan Sitch (virtual) Ron Oikonen Scottie Wemigwans Trudy Tuchenhagen

TRUSTEES ABSENT, WITH REGRET: Donica LeBlanc

SENIOR ADMINISTRATION:

Sherri-Lynne Pharand, Director of Education AJ Keene, Superintendent of Education Jane Lower, Superintendent of Education Kirsti Alaksa, Superintendent of Business Michelle Probizanski, Superintendent of Education Heather Harris, Superintendent of Education

RESOURCE:

Angela Lee-Wiwcharyk, Manager of Financial Services Christine Jones, Executive Secretary

GUEST:

Suzanne Posthumus, SEAC Meghan Smelow, LOPC Shelley Crupi, OSSTF-ECE Jennifer Muir-Griffin, OSSTF-ECE Kari Simpson, OSSTF-SSP Nikki Marks, LOPC Kayla Hardick, OSSTF-ECE Dinah Neilson, OSSTF-Thunder Bay

PUBLIC SESSION:

1. <u>Call to Order</u>

Trustee Wemigwans, Chair, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

2. Disclosure of Conflict of Interest

There were no disclosures of Conflict of Interest.

3. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u>

Moved by Trustee Saarinen

Seconded by Trustee Vanderwey

"THAT the Agenda for the Finance Committee Meeting of April 16, 2024, be approved."

CARRIED

4. Delegations

Chair, Wemigwans, welcomed the presenters and provided an overview of the deputation process.

The following Federations/Unions/Advisory Committees/School Council, presented and provided input into the 2024-2025 budget process:

- 4.1 Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) Suzanne Posthumus.
- 4.2 Parent Involvement Committee (PIC) no presenter.
- 4.3 Indigenous Education Advisory Committee: Miiniwewinan (IEAC) Heather Harris
- 4.4 Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation, Student Support Professionals (OSSTF-SSP) – Kari Simpson.
- 4.5 Lakehead Ontario Principals' Council (LOPC) Meghan Smelow and Nikki Marks.
- 4.6 Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation Early Childhood Educators (OSSTF-ECE) – Shelley Crupi, Kayla Hardick and Jennifer Muir-Griffin.
- 4.7 Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation, Thunder Bay Branch Dinah Neilson.
- 4.8 Lakehead Elementary Teachers of Ontario no presenter.
- 4.9 School Council / Public Submissions Kirsti Alaksa, Superintendent of Business shared the school council input and public submissions were attached to the meeting package.

All additional questions are asked to be forwarded to Christine Jones, Executive Secretary.

Trustee Saarinen, suggested a letter of appreciation be sent to all school councils that provided input to the 2024-2025 budget process.

5. <u>Approval Of Minutes</u>

Moved by Trustee Chambers

Seconded by Trustee Tuchenhagen

"THAT the Finance Committee approve the Minutes of the Finance Committee Meeting February 28, 2024."

CARRIED

6. <u>Business Arising from the Minutes</u>

There was no business arising from the February 28, 2024, minutes.

- 7. Information Reports
- 8. <u>Adjournment</u>

Moved by Trustee Saarinen

Seconded by Trustee Johansen

"THAT we do now adjourn at 8:00 p.m."

CARRIED