



## MIINIWEWINAN INDIGENOUS EDUCATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE MINUTES

**DATE**: Thursday, June 13, 2024 – 9:00 am – 12:00pm – Boardroom/Virtual Meeting via Microsoft Teams

CO-CHAIR: Serena Essex

**Heather Harris** 

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Kathleen Andrews, Kathy Beardy, Sheri Boucher, Elliott Cromarty, Emily Drake, Indigenous Student

Trustee, Trustee Pat Johansen, Anna Fern Kakegamic, Elder Gerry Martin, Morning Star Tom,

Indigenous Trustee Scottie Wemigwans

**ALTERNATES:** Trustee Ellen Chambers

**RESOURCES:** Anika Guthrie, Tanya Moses, Sherri-Lynne Pharand, Director of Education Jasmine Sgambelluri,

Meghan Smelow

ABSENT WITH REGRETS: Myra Bannon, Kali Bernst, Shelby Ch'ng, Kristy Boucher, Anthony Jeethan, Michelle Kakegamic,

Sharon Kanutski, Jane Lower, Leanna Marshall, Dave Paddington, Brett Parres, Patti Pella, Education Officer, Indigenous Education Office, Ministry of Education, Stephanie Petiquan, Angelina Tassone,

Trustee Trudy Tuchenhagen (Alternate), Leland Waboose

	AGENDA ITEM	DISCUSSION	ACTION
1.	Opening	Elder Gerry Martin called the meeting to order.	Elder Gerry Martin
2.	2.1 Land Acknowledgement	Co-chair Serena Essex acknowledged the lands and traditional territory.	Serena Essex
	2.2 Welcome and Introductions	Co-Chair Heather Harris welcomed everyone to the meeting and had all members introduce themselves.	Heather Harris

3.	Agenda and Minutes		
	3.1 Approval of Agenda - June 13, 2024	Moved by Trustee Pat Johansen and seconded by Indigenous Trustee Scott Wemigwans, that the agenda for the June 13, 2024 Miiniwewinan meeting be approved as written	Serena Essex
		Carried	
	3.2 Approval of Minutes – April 25, 2024	Moved by Trustee Pat Johansen and seconded by Elliott Cromarty, that the minutes for the April 25, 2024 Miiniwewinan meeting be approved as written.	Serena Essex
		Carried	
4.	Presentations		
	4.1 13 Moons Resource Sharing	Jasmine Sgambelluri, FNMI Resource Teacher, shared the 13 Moons resource and a video featuring teachings from Elder Gerry that were created to share with educators.	Jasmine Sgambelluri
		All members' questions were addressed.	
	4.2 Indigenous Education Board Report	Jasmine Sgambelluri, FNMI Resource Teacher, shared the Indigenous Education Board Report that was presented at the April 23, 2024 Regular Board meeting.	Jasmine Sgambelluri
		All members' questions were addressed.	
5.	Business Arising from the Minutes		
	5.1 Trustee Recognition Award	Co-chair Heather Harris shared that Destiny Linklater and Baby Mukwa were presented with the Trustee Recognition Award at the June 11, 2024 Regular Board meeting.	Heather Harris
	5.2 PIC Funding for Fall Event	Co-chair Heather Harris shared that she has confirmed it is possible for the 2023-2024 PIC funding to be carried over into the 2024-2025 school year and used towards a Fall event run by the committee.	Heather Harris
	5.3 Communications	All members' questions were addressed  Co-chair Heather Harris updated the committee that discussions around possibly translating the Miiniwewinan Policy into Anishinaabemowin will continue in the Fall with Jamie Smith, Communications Supervisor.	Heather Harris

	5.4 Smudging	Co-chair Serena Essex shared that if the committee decides to smudge at meetings, those who wish to participate can join outside and that the purchase of liquid smudge will be investigated to provide an alternative that can be used inside in case of cold weather.	Serena Essex
6.	New Business		
	6.1 Elder Gerry Martin  – recognition and thanks	Sherri-Lynne Pharand, Director of Education presented Elder Gerry with a gift from the committee as a recognition of thanks for his contributions to the Miiniwewinan Committee.	Sherri-Lynne Pharand
7.	Ongoing Business		
	7.1 Indigenous Student Trustee Update	Emily Drake, Indigenous Student Trustee shared an update about initiatives she has worked on during the school year and goals for next year.	Emily Drake
	7.2 Community Updates	Tanya Moses, FNMI Partnership Coordinator, shared an update on activities she has worked on ,and goals for next year.  All members' questions were addressed.	Tanya Moses
	7.3 Anishnaabemowin Revitalization	Anika Guthrie, Anishnaabemowin Revitalization Coordinator summarized the strategies that have been worked on this year and events that have been attended as well as Revitalization Project goals for next year.  All members' questions were addressed.	Anika Guthrie
8.	Information and Inquiries	Co-chair Serena Essex shared the Miiniwewinan Committee 2024-2025 meeting schedule.  Co-Chair Heather Harris shared an article on the Government of Canada website that listed the 2024 Prime Minister Award for Teaching Excellence recipients which included Jasmine Sgambelluri as the award winner for Ontario.	
9.	Closing	Elder Gerry closed the meeting.	
10.	Next Meeting	Thursday, September 26, 2024	
11.	Adjournment	The meeting was adjourned at 12:00 p.m.	