LAKEHEAD DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD

MINUTES OF FINANCE COMMITTEE

Board Room / Microsoft Teams Jim McCuaig Education Centre 2025 APR 7 6:30 p.m.

TRUSTEES PRESENT:

Scottie Wemigwans (Chair) Ron Oikonen Patricia Johansen Leah Vanderwey Ellen Chambers George Saarinen (Vice Chair) Ryan Sitch Trudy Tuchenhagen Donica LeBlanc

TRUSTEES WITH REGRETS:

SENIOR ADMINISTRATION:

Sherri-Lynne Pharand, Director of Education Jane Lower, Superintendent of Education Kirsti Alaksa, Superintendent of Business Michelle Probizanski, Superintendent of Education Heather Harris, Superintendent of Education Nicholas Sacevich, Associate Superintendent of Education

SENIOR ADMINISTRATION WITH REGRETS:

RESOURCE:

Angela Lee-Wiwcharyk, Manager of Financial Services Simona Serrao, Executive Secretary

GUESTS:

Alina Cameron, SEAC John Delorey, OSSTF, District 6A Nikki Marks, LOPC Dave Paddington, LETO Shelley Crupi, OSSTF ECE Michelle Riemer, PIC Nancy Nix, EOT Meghan Smelow, LOPC Carrina Loffredo, LETO Caitlin Smith OSSTF ECE

PUBLIC SESSION:

1. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chair, Scottie Wemigwans, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

2. Disclosure of Conflict of Interest

There were no disclosures of conflict of interest.

3. Land Acknowledgement

Kirsti Alaksa, Superintendent of Business provided the land acknowledgement.

4. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u>

Moved by Trustee LeBlanc Seconded by Trustee Saarinen

"THAT the Agenda for the Finance Committee Meeting of April 7, 2025, be approved."

CARRIED

5. <u>Delegations</u>

Chair, Scottie Wemigwans, welcomed the presenters and provided an overview of the deputation process.

The following Federations/Unions/Advisory Committees, provided input into the 2025-2026 budget process:

- 5.1. Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) Alina Cameron
- 5.2. Parent Involvement Committee (PIC) Michelle Riemer
- 5.3. Miiniwewinan: Indigenous Education Advisory Committee (IEAC) no presenter
- 5.4. Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF), District 6A, Thunder Bay John Delorey
- 5.5. Lakehead Ontario Principals' Council (LOPC) Meghan Smelow & Nikki Marks
- 5.6. Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation Early Childhood Educators (OSSTF ECE) Shelley Crupi & Caitlin Smith
- 5.7. Elementary Occasional Teachers (EOT) Nancy Nix
- 5.8. Lakehead Elementary Teachers of Ontario (LETO) Dave Paddington & Carrina Loffredo
- 5.9. Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation Student Support Professionals (OSSTF SSPs) – no presenter
- 5.10. School Council / Public Submissions Kirsti Alaksa

All additional questions are to be sent to senior Lakehead District School Board staff.

6. Approval of Minutes

Moved by Trustee Vanderwey

Seconded by Trustee Johansen

"THAT the Finance Committee approve the Minutes of the Finance Committee Meeting, February 18, 2025."

CARRIED

7. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes of February 18, 2025.

8. Information Reports

There were no information reports.

9. <u>New Reports</u>

There were no new reports.

10. Information and Inquires

Kirsti Alaksa, Superintendent of Business informed the members that further clarification regarding the budget deputations presented at this meeting will be provided at the next Finance Committee meeting on May 14, 2025.

11. Adjournment

Moved by Trustee Saarinen

Seconded by Trustee Tuchenhagen

"THAT we do now adjourn at 7:51 p.m."

CARRIED