Robin Sulkko

2016-17 Student Trustee Introduced

Robin SulkkoAt this evening’s Standing Committee Meeting of the Lakehead District School Board, Sir Winston Churchill Collegiate and Vocational Institute Grade 11 International Baccalaureate Programme student Robyn Sulkko was introduced as the new Student Trustee. Robyn replaces outgoing Student Trustee Hannah Smith who will be graduating from Hammarskjold High School and attending university this September. Robyn Sulkko will commence her duties as the Student Trustee on August 1, 2016.

“I look forward to being a student Trustee so that I can represent the students of the Lakehead District School Board where the decisions are being made,” says Robyn Sulkko, incoming Lakehead District School Board Student Trustee. “It is extremely important that student voice is heard and considered when important decisions are being made.”

In addition to her studies Robyn is very busy with numerous activities at school and in her community:

  • Elementary School Senate
    • Worked with Grade 7 and 8 student leaders during monthly meetings.
  • Camp Gitchigomee
    • Cabin leader, craft assistant and child minder.
  • Youth Tbay Board
    • Marketing and promotions
  • CanSerra Group Thunder Bay Board
    • Secretary

The Student Trustee provides representation for all Lakehead Public Schools students in accordance with Ontario Legislation. The Student Trustee is a non-voting member and has a one year term for students in Grade 11 or 12. Students may apply for a second term.