In The News

Lakehead Public Schools Celebrating Grade 8 Success

Lakehead Public Schools is pleased to announce that 19 students have been chosen to receive the 2015 Grade 8 Award of Excellence. The awards will be presented on Thursday, May 21 at a banquet at the Current River Community Centre to honour the students. The Grade 8 Awards of Excellence are presented by the Lakehead Learning Foundation in partnership with Lakehead Elementary Teachers of Ontario, Ontario Principals’ Council, and Lakehead Public Schools.

The 2015 Grade 8 Award of Excellence marks the first time that a student and a parent have received the award. In 1985, Greg Kawahara won the then Walter Poshtar Award as a Grade 8 student at Agnew H. Johnston Public School. This year, Mr. Kawahara’s daughter Katie is the Agnew H. Johnston Public School recipient of the Grade 8 Award of Excellence.

The Grade 8 Award of Excellence recognizes individuals who have achieved high standards of academic excellence as well as demonstrating leadership within the school and our community. Through their daily actions within our schools and in our community, the students truly personify the Lakehead Public Schools Values of:

  • Integrity
  • Respect
  • Acceptance
  • Responsibility
  • Empathy

The 2015 Grade 8 Award of Excellence Recipients:

Katie Kawahara
Agnew H. Johnston Public School

Cassidy Jacobson
Algonquin Avenue Public School

Sydney Nodin
Armstrong Elementary Public School

Abby Brown
Claude E. Garton Public School

Katie Spithoff
Crestview Public School

Emily Horton
Edgewater Park School

Kari Peltonen
Five Mile Public School

Liam Beaulne
Gorham & Ware Community Public School

Yuna Sung
Ecole Gron Morgan Public School

Kaitlyn Smart
Kakabeka Falls District Public School

Sydney Buchan
Kingsway Park Public School

Jade Druhar
McKellar Park Public School

Caitlyn Aune
Nor’wester View Public School

Aliya Demidovich
Sir Winston Churchill Collegiate &Vocational Institute

Jakob DeVries
Valley Central Public School

Jylian Hanson
Vance Chapman Public School

Carly Geddes
Westmount Public School

Karlie Lex
Whitefish Valley Public School

Albany Sutherland
Woodcrest Public School